RIM development environment serial port

I am developing a handheld application for my company. and it on a blackberry device. basically it’s a device programmer interfacing through a serial port. since blackberrys do not have serial port I’ll be using a Bluetooth to serial port converter, but for development I can use the BB serial port emulation through the PC port.

At first I use the class connector interface to open a serial port, as they use in their samples. but I couldn’t get it to accept messages coming over the port, I spent hours on that, tweaking the port and the code, nothing. The DataInputStream.available() always return zero, although I know it got a response. Eventually I found a different class, oddly enough named Class SerialPort that worked perfectly well. RIM did advised not to use it, but I am not going to use it for the final product anyway.

Leave a Reply

